On 1 July, 2009, legislation affecting the future management of Rookwood came into effect. 


The previous Necropolis Act was repealed and the Joint Committee of Necropolis Trustees (“JCNT”) ceased to exist. 


The Rookwood Necropolis Trust (“RNT”) was appointed by the Minister and includes five (5) representatives:


Mr John Desmond              (Consultant and Chair of the Trust)

Mr Derek Sinclair               (Consultant - previously with the Department of Lands)

Mrs Mary Thorne               (former manager of cemeteries at Penrith City Council;

                                           previous Chair CCA)

Mr Andrew McAnespie      (Department of Lands)

Dr Siobhan Lavelle OAM    (Department of Planning)


The current staff of the JCNT will continue, with Mr Lee Squires providing secretarial and management support to the new RNT.


A set of new Ministerial Directions, signed by the Minister, defines the functions to be performed by the RNT and other denominational Trust managers.  The main purpose is for the development of a draft Plan of Management for Rookwood and its subsequent implementation.


The Ministerial Directions also require consultation with each of the denominational Trusts through a Committee of Managers which will comprise the operational managers of each of the Trusts within the Rookwood Cemetery.